17.04.19 07.05.19

Orestes in Mosul - Milo Rau

TICKETS

181128 Mosul4 NTGent
The Oresteia is not only the one single trilogy that has come down to us from classical antiquity and one of mankind’s greatest tragedies, but it also represents the myth of the foundation of civilisation, whereby the principle of the blood feud, the never-ending cycle of revenge, an eye for an eye, was replaced by the principles of justice, integration and reconciliation. Milo Rau will stage this tragedy with a mixed ensemble of European and Iraqi actors. The process includes research and activities in Mosul, where the Jihadi caliphate of ISIS was declared in 2014.

Milo Rau had the idea of staging a present-day version of Aeschylus’ Oresteia while he was conducting research for his play EMPIRE (2016) in northern Iraq on the frontline facing ISIS. ‘It is as if you were in a television scene and in a classical epic at the same time,’ as Rau puts it. How is it possible to stop the never-ending chain of violence in which the parties of the Syrian-Iraqi civil war and their Western allies find themselves?

In the first two parts of Aeschylus’ Oresteia there appears to be no way out: death has a domino effect – Orestes is pursued by the goddesses of vengeance after he murders his mother Clytemnestra and her lover Aegisthus. He did this out of revenge because the two of them killed Orestes’ father, Agamemnon (and his mistress Cassandra). For her part, Clytemnestra murders her husband Agamemnon out of revenge because he sacrificed their daughter Iphigeneia to the wind to go to war with Troy. The only one who can stop this violence is Athena: she calms down the goddesses of vengeance by allotting them a place in society. Where hate has not helped, the loving embrace now succeeds.

Milo Rau retains the ancient grandeur of the tragedy, but links it to present-day issues, with an international ensemble. What can ORESTEIA mean today, rehearsed and staged in Western Europe and in Mosul?

52 Taxsheltercropped
practical

tickets

standard: €28 - €20
reduction: : €24 - €16
under 26: €14

practical

Different languages on stage, Dutch and English surtitles

estimated duration

tbc
credits

direction

dramaturgy

text

Milo Rau & ensemble

based on

'Oresteia' by Aeschylos

film

Daniel Demoustier & Moritz von Dungern

film editing

Joris Vertenten

direction assistance

Katelijne Laevens

trainee direction assistance

Bo Alfaro Decreton

assistance dramaturgy

Eline Banken

stage manager

Marijn Vlaeminck

light design

Dennis Diels

costume design

An De Mol

set design

ruimtevaarders

sound technique

Dimitri Devos

video technique

Stijn Pauwels

licht technique

Dennis Diels

stage technique

Joris Vanhoutte

production

NTGent

in coproduction with

Schauspielhaus Bochum

this performance was realised with support through

Belgian Tax Shelter

TICKETS

Wednesday 17 April 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Thursday 18 April 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Friday 19 April 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Thursday 25 April 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Saturday 27 April 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Sunday 28 April 2019
15:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Tuesday 30 April 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Wednesday 1 May 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Thursday 2 May 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Saturday 4 May 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Tuesday 7 May 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
SHOW ALL DATES

ON TOUR

Friday 17 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Saturday 18 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Sunday 19 May 2019
17u00
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Monday 20 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Wednesday 22 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Thursday 23 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Friday 24 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Sunday 26 May 2019
17u00
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Tuesday 28 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Wednesday 29 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Thursday 30 May 2019
19u30
Bochum, Kammerspiele
Thursday 06 June 2019
19u30
Wenen, Wiener Festwochen
Friday 07 June 2019
19u30
Wenen, Wiener Festwochen
Saturday 08 June 2019
19u30
Wenen, Wiener Festwochen
Wednesday 12 June 2019
20u00
Douai, l'Hippdrome
Thursday 13 June 2019
20u00
Douai, l'Hippdrome
SHOW ALL DATES

REACTIES

Bedankt voor je bericht.
Er is iets mis gegaan.