04.01.20 30.12.20

Familie - Milo Rau

TICKETS

Familie Bijgeknipt Web C Michiel Devijver Michiel Devijver
In 2007 in Calais, a whole family hanged themselves: the parents and their two children. Never a motive was found, the suicide note stated: 'We went too far, sorry.'

Familie will be staged by a real family: actors An Miller and Filip Peeters will not only act together as a couple, but for the first time in their career they will be on stage with their two teenage daughters Leonce and Louisa – and their dogs.

What reasons, what traumas underlie such a suicide? Familie is an experiment, an ethnological study of today’s private life, an exhibition of the everyday: on stage we see the house of Family Demeester – or is it the house of the Family Peeters/Miller? Together they will reconstruct the mysterious case of the Family Demesteer, following the journey of their own family, questioning the construction of family as the cell of life and origin of our world today.

Fiction and reality mix, as we see on stage an evening like many in families – just that it is the last one. We watch a family eat, shower, learn English, watch videos. We see them talking to each other about everyday things, making phone calls, listening to music, cleaning up the apartment, remembering moments of their lives. And in this exhibition of the normal, the big questions arise: Why are we here? Why am I here?

After the international success of Five Easy Pieces, in which children questioned the life of murderer and child molester Marc Dutroux on stage, and La Reprise, about the homophobic murder of Ihsane Jarfi in Liège, Milo Rau completes his trilogy of modern crimes with an existential family drama.

52 Taxsheltercropped
practical

tickets

€14-26

practical

In Dutch
Subtitles in English


Do you have questions on suicide? Call the free number 1813.

credits

direction

Milo Rau

dramaturgy & research

Carmen Hornbostel

coach

Peter Seynaeve

set & costume design

Anton Lukas

composition

Saskia Venegas Aernouts

light design

Dennis Diels

video design

Moritz von Dungern

direction assistant

Liesbeth Standaert

costume design

Louisa Peeters , Anton Lukas

assistance dramaturgy

Eline Banken

video technique

Raf Willems

Els Jacxsens , Chris Vanneste

stage technique

Ramon Blancquaert

surtitling

Liesbeth Standaert , Eline Banken

set realisation

Thierry Dhondt , Flup Beys , Joris Soenen , Pierre Keulemans , Luc Goedertier

realisation costumes

Mieke Van der Cruyssen , An De Mol

coproducer

Romaeuropa Festival , Künstlerhaus Mousonturm , Schauspiel Stuttgart , Théâtre de Liège , Scène Nationale d'Albi

thanks to

Café Costume , Stuntteam de Beukelaer , Marie Goudeseune

this production was realized with the support of

The Belgian Tax Shelter

TICKETS

Saturday 4 January 2020
20:00
NTGent Minnemeers
Sunday 5 January 2020
15:00
NTGent Minnemeers
Saturday 11 January 2020
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Sunday 12 January 2020
15:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Saturday 25 January 2020
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Sunday 26 January 2020
15:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Friday 7 February 2020
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Friday 1 May 2020
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Saturday 2 May 2020
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
SHOW ALL DATES

ON TOUR

Friday 17 January 2020
20u00
Amsterdam (ITA Grote Zaal)
Saturday 18 January 2020
20u00
Amsterdam (ITA Grote Zaal)
Saturday 01 February 2020
20u15
Groningen (SSB)
Saturday 08 February 2020
20u00
Utrecht (SSB Douwe Egbertszaal)
Friday 14 February 2020
20u15
Rotterdam (SB Grote Zaal)
Saturday 15 February 2020
20u15
Rotterdam (SB Grote Zaal)
Friday 21 February 2020
20u15
Lokeren (CC Lokeren Theaterzaal)
Saturday 22 February 2020
20u00
Izegem (CC De Leest)
Sunday 23 February 2020
20u00
Leuven (30CC Schouwburg)
Thursday 27 February 2020
20u00
Frankfurt (Mousonturm)
Friday 28 February 2020
20u00
Frankfurt (Mousonturm)
Saturday 29 February 2020
20u00
Frankfurt (Mousonturm)
Saturday 07 March 2020
20u00
Oostende (Grote Post)
Friday 03 April 2020
20u00
Kortrijk (Schouwburgzaal)
Saturday 04 April 2020
20u15
Turnhout (De Warande Schouwburg)
Monday 06 April 2020
20u00
Roeselare (De Spil SB)
Tuesday 07 April 2020
20u00
Brussel (KVS Bol)
Saturday 09 May 2020
20u00
Deinze (Leietheater Grote Zaal)
SHOW ALL DATES

REACTIES

Bedankt voor je bericht.
Er is iets mis gegaan.