16.03.19 21.05.19

Black/ the Sorrows of Belgium I Congo - Luk Perceval

TICKETS

Vergroot Photoq Congo 1960 C Robert Lebeck 1 Michiel Devijver
In the trilogy The Sorrows of Belgium, consisting of the three national colours Black/Yellow/Red, director Luk Perceval zooms in on three dark periods in Belgian history. Respectively: the exploitation of Congo under Leopold II in Black, the collaboration with the German occupying forces during World War II in Yellow and the terrorist attacks in ‘hellhole’ Brussels in Red.

With these historical facts as a starting point, a portrait in three parts is sketched, where a political agenda was again and again the cause for human suffering, where surrealism is never far off and where a small country tries to stand its ground between big international powers, sometimes in a cunning way, but more often in a convulsive way … Welcome to the political centre of Europe!

As a source of inspiration for Black, the first part of The Sorrows  of Belgium about Congo, they used a true account by one of the first travellers to Congo in history: African-American William Henry Sheppard, billed as the 'Black Livingstone’. Sheppard travelled from New York to Africa via London in February 1890 as a missionary for the Presbyterian church. Together with his white travel companion Sam Lapsley – both men still in their early twenties at the time – he began a life-changing adventure across completely unknown territory, where he encountered one surprise after another. Unlike Lapsley, who couldn’t physically cope with the mission, Sheppard thrived, until the money from the church ran out and he had to return to America for new funds. On his return, he was vocal about the abuses in Congo, and he is one of the first to denounce Leopold II’s disgraceful exploitation. In Black, a reconstruction of Sheppard’s authentic travel logs will be made, inspired by the fiery lectures he gave to win financial support. He didn’t shy away from dramatic effect and exhibited art and utensils, responding to the craving for exoticism by the average Westerner. In America at that time, Sheppard’s lectures provided more than one shock: due to the colour of his skin, black spectators were allowed into theatres for the first time where he appeared, admittedly in the highest balcony. Sheppard’s story testifies, alongside a deep-seated fear for the unknown, to a ubiquitous racism.

52 Taxsheltercropped
practical

tickets

standard: €28 - €20
reduction: : €24 - €16
under 26: €14

practical

Multilingual performance with Dutch and English surtitles

spel
  • Chris Thys
  • Peter Seynaeve
  • Tom De Wispelaere
  • Andie Dushime
  • Yolanda Mpélé
  • Aminata Demba
  • Nganji Mutiri
  • Frank Focketyn
credits

direction

dramatists

text

Steven Heene, Fiston Mwanza Mujila and Luk Perceval based on different sources

music

Sam Gysel

dramaturgy

Steven Heene

set design

Annette Kurz, Sammy Van den Heuvel

costumes

Ilse Vandenbussche

light design

Mark Van Denesse

assistent director

Liesbeth Standaert

production manager

Sebastiaan Peeters

production

NTGent

this performance was realised with support through

Belgian Tax Shelter

TICKETS

Saturday 16 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Tuesday 19 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Wednesday 20 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Friday 22 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Saturday 23 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Sunday 24 March 2019
15:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Wednesday 27 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Thursday 28 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Friday 29 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
Saturday 30 March 2019
20:00
NTGent Schouwburg
SHOW ALL DATES

ON TOUR

Thursday 04 April 2019
20u00
Hasselt, Schouwburg
Friday 05 April 2019
20u00
Antwerpen, Toneelhuis
Saturday 06 April 2019
20u00
Antwerpen, Toneelhuis
Monday 08 April 2019
20u30
Amsterdam, Stadsschouwburg
Tuesday 09 April 2019
20u30
Amsterdam, Stadsschouwburg
Wednesday 24 April 2019
20u00
Aalst, CC De Werf
Thursday 25 April 2019
20u00
Brugge, Stadsschouwburg
Saturday 27 April 2019
20u00
Brussel, KVS Bol
Tuesday 30 April 2019
20u18
Den Haag, Het Nationale Theater
Tuesday 07 May 2019
20u00
Utrecht, Stadsschouwburg
Wednesday 08 May 2019
20u00
Rotterdam, Schouwburg
Saturday 11 May 2019
20u15
Groningen, Stadsschouwburg
Tuesday 14 May 2019
20u00
Maastricht, Theater aan het Vrijthof
Wednesday 15 May 2019
20u15
Haarlem, Stadsschouwburg
Tuesday 21 May 2019
20u00
Sint-Niklaas, Stadsschouwburg
SHOW ALL DATES

REACTIES

Bedankt voor je bericht.
Er is iets mis gegaan.